Skip To ContentSkip To Content

    Historical Touchstones
    Whittier Elementary, originally Whittier School, first opened in 1908. Overcrowding in the original school building lead to the construction of a second building in 1928. Both buildings were demolished in 1998, and the current school building opened in 1999.

    The current building features a stained glass window and keystone from the 1928 building. A maritime theme reflecting Ballard’s history is carried out in designs on the exterior and interior of the building.

    Who Was John G. Whittier?
    Whittier School, originally opened in 1908, was named in honor of John Greenleaf Whittier, a 19th century poet, author, and abolitionist. Read about John G. Whittier’s fascinating life on Wikipedia.

    Sea Serpent Sighting
    The smiling sea serpent meandering through the Whittier playground is named Snorkel.

    Whittier Theme Song - Paws Up For Wildcats

    Who are we? 
    We are wildcats!

    We’re Whittier Wildcats  
    The second that Bell Rings 
    Walk to our class
    focused on task 
    ready for learning 

    we walk in the hallways 
    with quiet voices 
     learn from mistakes 
    that's what it takes 
    making good choices 

    respect ourselves and others 
    yellow and blue are our colors 

    Whittier is proud we're going to shout out loud
    responsibility respect and safety 
    paws up for Wildcats

    Out on the playground
    Working together
    Sharing with friends 
    We can depend
     on one another

    We have a shared dream
    We are a great team
    Respectful and kind
    Help in a bind
    Stronger than ever

    If problems come
    We solve em
    Conflict’s no fun
    We’ll Resolve em

    Whittier is proud we're going to shout out loud
    responsibility respect and safety 
    paws up for Wildcats

    Paws Up for Wildcats (MP3)