Skip To ContentSkip To Content
    School Budget Advocacy
    Posted on 03/13/2019
    Whittier LogoDear Whittier Parents

    Seattle voters renewed two levies in February that provide critical support to our schools. However, a significant portion of those levy dollars are unavailable to Seattle Public Schools, and more importantly our students, unless the state legislature approves an increase in its “levy cap” (learn more about the levy cap on our “Resources” page).

    HELP US ADVOCATE to lawmakers to amply fund Washington public schools. Spend 5 minutes making a call or sending an email to the Democratic Senators on the Ways & Means committee, and to your State Senator and your two State Representatives (names and email addresses below).

    Find a sample email/script below (add your own perspective/experience!) as well as clear instructions for reaching your representatives today.


    SUBJECT LINE: Education Funding—Raise the Levy Cap!

    Dear Senators and Representatives,

    All of you represent families, including mine, in Seattle Public Schools. I urge you to work with your colleagues to pass legislation to lift the levy lid during this legislative session. Lifting the levy lid will enable Seattle Public Schools and other districts around the state to mitigate budget shortfalls and provide greater supports in our schools for our dramatically underfunded Special Education programs, and to add safety net services (counselors, librarians, nurses and social workers) in buildings across the district.

    Seattle voters have passed continuation levies and are willing to fund these basic services in our public schools. Please make sure their votes count!

    In the long term, I encourage you to revisit the definition of “basic education” and sources of income in our state. Washington State, home to some of the wealthiest individuals and corporations in the world, should be capable of supporting a world-class education system. Instead, we are forced to choose between paying our teachers a livable wage and supporting critical—and BASIC—programs.

    Thank you for your consideration and support.

    SIGNED:
    Your name
    Your legislative district
    Your title and/or affiliation (if applicable)
    Your address

    Emails for WA State Democratic Senators on Ways & Means Committee:
    Christine.Rolfes@leg.wa.gov
    David.Frockt@leg.wa.gov
    Mark.Mullet@leg.wa.gov
    Andy.Billig@leg.wa.gov
    Reuven.Carlyle@leg.wa.gov
    Jeannie.Darneille@leg.wa.gov
    Bob.Hasegawa@leg.wa.gov
    Sam.Hunt@leg.wa.gov
    Karen.Keiser@leg.wa.gov
    Marko.Liias@leg.wa.gov
    Guy.Palumbo@leg.wa.gov
    Jamie.Pedersen@leg.wa.gov
    Kevin.VanDeWege@leg.wa.gov

    To find your legislative district or your legislator names and phone numbers, click here: https://app.leg.wa.gov/DistrictFinder/    

    For Whittier Heights area (District 36):
    Reuven.Carlyle@leg.wa.gov (Senator)
    Noel.Frame@leg.wa.gov (Representative)
    Gael.Tarleton@leg.wa.gov (Representative)