Skip To ContentSkip To Content
    Whittier's 2018-19 Golden Acorn Award Recipients
    Posted on 06/17/2019
    WSPTA Golden Acorn Award IconThe Golden Acorn Award is a very prestigious Washington State PTA award that is given out by the Whittier PTA in recognition of the recipient's extraordinary commitment to Whittier students, families, and staff.

    Congratulations to Tracy Yetter and Cherise Gaffney, our 2018-19 Golden Acorn Award recipient! 

    Year after year, Tracy Yetter spends her time and energy working to make Whittier a wonderful place for students and a fun community for families. Beyond volunteering as a PTA Board member and BLT parent representative, she has been heavily involved in planning and executing the large bi-annual auction that was a significant portion of PTA fundraising in the past. This year, Tracy helped shape Spring Fling into our new annual fundraising event to replace the formal bi-annual auction, and it was a smashing success. She also leads a Girl Scout troop for Whittier 2nd graders and is helping to spearhead fundraising for next year's 5th graders to attend NatureBridge. She is a person who chips in where it is needed, regardless of how much she has already contributed that year. We are so lucky that Tracy Yetter is a parent at our school - Whittier would not be the same without her. 

    Cherise Gaffney has spent her Whittier years committing countless hours of service to the Whittier community and the PTA. The number of years and positions are many, we think if we did our math correctly Cherise has been at Whittier for 9 years between both her children. Some would say it’s 12 years since she’s put in 2 kids x K-5. When there’s a spot to pop popcorn, work the STEM fair, or help with an event, she’s there. When her class needed a fundraising chair for Naturebridge she stepped up. Cherise chaperoned the Naturebridge trip, and then still went back again for a second trip! She has an amazing amount of PTA institutional memory, and has unofficially provided legal advice to the PTA since that is her occupation. Cherise is also not above organizing the PTA closets and sifting through decades of paperwork, dumping what we didn’t need, and filing the things we need to keep. We will definitely miss Cherise Gaffney next year!

    Past Golden Acorn Award Recipients

    2017-2018: Demian Minjarez
    2016-2017: Heidi Wachter, Karen Gustafson, and Amy Bryan.
    2015-2016: Casey Holden.