Main navigation

About

Fun Facts

Historical Touchstones
Whittier Elementary, originally Whittier School, first opened in 1908. Overcrowding in the original school building lead to the construction of a second building in 1928. Both buildings were demolished in 1998, and the current school building opened in 1999.

The current building features a stained glass window and keystone from the 1928 building. A maritime theme reflecting Ballard’s history is carried out in designs on the exterior and interior of the building.

Who Was John G. Whittier?
Whittier School, originally opened in 1908, was named in honor of John Greenleaf Whittier , a 19th century poet, author, and abolitionist. Read about John G. Whittier’s fascinating life onWikipedia.

Sea Serpent Sighting
The smiling sea serpent meandering through the Whittier playground is named Snorkel.

Whittier Theme Song – Paws Up For Wildcats

Who are we? 
We are wildcats!

We’re Whittier Wildcats  
The second that Bell Rings 
Walk to our class
focused on task 
ready for learning 

we walk in the hallways 
with quiet voices 
 learn from mistakes 
that’s what it takes 
making good choices 

respect ourselves and others 
yellow and blue are our colors 

Whittier is proud we’re going to shout out loud
responsibility respect and safety 
paws up for Wildcats

Out on the playground
Working together
Sharing with friends 
We can depend
 on one another

We have a shared dream
We are a great team
Respectful and kind
Help in a bind
Stronger than ever

If problems come
We solve em
Conflict’s no fun
We’ll Resolve em

Whittier is proud we’re going to shout out loud
responsibility respect and safety 
paws up for Wildcats

Paws Up for Wildcats (MP3)